Escape your corporate masters!

I’ve been playing D&D 5e for almost three years now at Valhalla’s Gate. And now online because of the Covid-19 think. (Bummer…I much prefer in-person games. More social.)

But this isn’t my first foray into RPGs. I played D&D 1e (the white box with three pamphlets) back in the late 1970s.

The thing about that 3 pamphlet set from the ‘70s is that there weren’t a lot of rules. It was just a skeleton of game rules.

That was good. It meant we had to use our imagination.

In doing so my group from back then did something that I’ve never seen anyone else do since.

There were four of us. We didn’t have one GM and three players in the party. That’s the "corporate party line" of how to play. No…

We had four people so every time we got together (usually about 4 hours at a shot) we would have 20 minute turns, timed with an egg timer.

During the first turn, Person A would GM. Person B would play (along with a party of NPCs that person B mostly controlled). Person C would play the monsters or other NPCs. Person D would get 20 minutes to relax, take a bio break or whatever.

Then when the 20 minute timer rang, we did musical chairs and it was time for the next GM/Player/NPC/take a break combination.

All of this took place in a game world that we all participated in creating.

As you can imagine, this made play MUCH different than the “everyone in a party”, corporate stooge kind of play that’s common now.

(I call it corporate stooge play because WotC and other game manufacturers are, in my opinion, making games less and less creative and more and more like board games in the hopes of roping more people into buying their products. So throw off your shackles, free your imagination and try something different!)

How was if different, you ask? Several ways: